Sebastian Siegel and the Pinto Factory

September 15, 2009

I have prided myself on offering my first-person reactions and interactions with the folks that make Tinsel Town sparkle.  So while you know how I feel about those dreaded and dreadful reposts we see all too often from those OTHER SITES… I am also one to pass the torch when something soooo UBERLICIOUS comes along that I simply have to share.

Stefan Pinto has transformed his life and is one hell of a writer…Do we ALWAYS see eye to his well defined chest???  NOOOOOO, but am I certainly proud to call him my SOFSEBFF or (Smart Opinionated Funny Sexy Best Friend Forever) Yessss !  And in his recent article he was nice enough to share Sebastian Siegel…. Thank Youuuuuuuuu!   While it might be difficult, don’t allow his “manliness” to burn your retinas, as this guy is pecs, abs, a face I want to have transplanted on mine and more than a just dash of insight and compassion that make him all the more compelling.

Thanks to both for allowing me to share their moment with you.

From a recent interview at the Pinto Factory

(Photos © John Ganun)

…Sebastian Siegel looked pensive as he gestures ever so slightly to the two girls seated across from us, his eyes motion in their direction. It’s a sunny day in Los Angeles, and as we sat on the patio of Urth Caffe in Beverly Hills,  I can see, in that earnest stare, just how impassioned Sebastian Siegel is; about life, his career, the people he has met and finding his way.

Although I knew this question was rhetorical, I still maintained my curiosity. And as the waitress interrupts us with his food, I wait to see — to hear — and to learn more about what this actor turned model turned actor has to say about sacrifices, choices, goals and why so many people lack self esteem.

STEFAN PINTO: “Is that going to fill you?” Sebastian has ordered a green salad with a side of extra chicken, which the waitress has forgotten to bring.

SEBASTIAN SIEGEL: “Probably not. Are you going to get something?”

SP: “No, I’m doing a story on healthy meal replacement energy bars, and I just had one. Hey, do you want this bread-cake thing?” It’s a piece of corn bread that comes with my green tea espresso. Both taste wretched.

SS: [laughs] “That’s all yours.”

Our chat lasts for over two hours, and although the City of Beverly Hills chose to ticket me for parking in a broken meter, I remained auspicious in that sometimes life opportunities will knock, albeit softly; few people are fortunate to find a sage of wisdom, and if you’re really good at impersonating the Governor of California, people will stop what they’re doing and turn around to look

SP: In “The Family that Preys” your character’s wife dies, you lose your job and kids, and you end up living on the street.   I read that you, Sebastian Siegel, once lived in your car.  Do you find that you, or that many actors, are drawn to roles that sometimes echo [our] life’s struggles?

SS: I don’t, though I think anyone can identify with a sense of hopelessness from some moment or another in life. It’s part of that human thread that links us together — friends or strangers.  Since the acting, or becoming, of a role comes after the character is written, I think that, “echoing of,” sense with a role comes in the creation process of it. I certainly identified with Nick, and in my homework found things I loved and hated about being him. In this case the writer, Tyler Perry, lived in his car and overcame enormous challenges – and the impetus for that overcoming was spawned from faith. I think he writes a lot of that into his characters, and I certainly explored that with this role. It’s the actors’ job to deliver what’s written, what comes from the mind of the writer, and in collaboration with the vision of the director.

SP: Events and situations, in and of themselves do not determine our future, it is our reaction and actions that ultimately shape our lives. As a child, it seems you didn’t “fit in” however you replaced that emotional void with exercise, in essence bettering yourself. Today’s youth–even young adults–seem inclined to fill voids with material possessions or worse, sacrificing their self-image for those of celebrities. What advice would you give to today’s generation for building up their self esteem and embracing their uniqueness?

SS: For me making mistakes was paramount, it still is.  I’m the king of mistakes. I think in identifying your own individuality you have to feel out what fits and what doesn’t. Driving your own personal growth means reaching beyond your current capacity – but in that, you might find something greater than yourself that you aspire to.  I think this is the essence of growth, and so for me it’s where I found, and still find a lot of esteem;  reaching beyond myself to grow into more than I am. Of course pushing the envelope means that you’ll go too far sometimes, and you’ve got to be comfortable with that, with making mistakes, if you really want to live, really want to grow, really want to explore what it is to be you.

Read more at http://tinyurl.com/SebastianSiegel
And now some photos…

QSSA0091a

sidebarss33

sidebarss1 sidebarss2

2 Responses to “Sebastian Siegel and the Pinto Factory”

  1. Renee said

    omg, can i say that again, omg. that last picture, that chest, those abs. those muscles. yummy.

  2. J Jackson said

    FANTASTIC INTERVIEW, EXCELLENT QUESTIONS and AMAZINGLY ORIGINAL RESPONSES – and the PHOTOS that are with the complete interview…WOW

Leave a Reply

