The White Rapper Sullee- MC All The Way

August 3, 2009

Today in my Hip Hop class – Yes I did say Hip Hop as carbs are evil and I endeavor to be lean but not mean.   I was “bustin’ the proverbial move” and feeling rather coordinated as I remained upright when choreographed… Until the dancer next to me said – “Wow you move really well for a white guy…”  Ok I am a realist and as a man who moisturizes I have been called far worse than “rhythmic” – But it struck me, in these days of transition, it is easy to forget that some stereotypes persist.

Now to add insult to injury (after looking at HIM cross-eyed) – He added… “And for  guy your age you are really moving…”  Ok that just about pushed me over the edge – but alas this was a special day as I was not the ONLY “white guy” who would stepping outside the box and taking on the status quo.

Serious moment…This is what we call an introduction and it is meant to somehow tie my interview with the straight up, straight talkin’ MC  (I will wow you with my knowledge in just a few…) Sullee with my random life.  So please this is not a political statement on present racial woes…THIS is a celebrity blog – so breathe….And away we go!

Photo Credits: Source Unknown

Sullee1

MTV I love you and you have been good to me, but I do have talk the talk about VH1 for a bit.  What happens when you mix reality television, a really cool premise and music?  Ya get The White Rapper Show hosted by MC Serch of 3rd Bass fame.   Now stick these white rappers in a “crib” (listen to me sounding so urban) in the South Bronx and let the bullets, I mean sparks fly.

Actually, according to Sullee the show was “really fair” with only a few editing “extravaganzas” that did not fully “represent”.

Hailing from inner city Boston, it was immediately clear that this guy was a gentleman, an artist and more than willing to educate me on the finer points of the Rap vs. Hip Hop debate. In fact, did ya know that beyond the box is the MC??? Hmmm see you can even learn something here!

So as an MC or Master of Ceremony Sullee truly collaborates with the DJ who is spinning and steps into the spotlight to keep the party moving.   Not to take away from his reality television experience or his unwavering integrity as he walked away from the $100,000 brass ring to do as his father told him when he left for the show – “Make sure he could come home…” with his reputation firmly intact and the respect of this Blogger and fans everywhere – Sullee has certainly come full circle… “growing up I really respected people like Busta Rhymes…” Fast forward to the present and BAM! his hit single is with whom you ask? None other than his childhood idol “Busta”… Doesn’t get much better than that!

With his debut album An American Tale (named after his favorite movie) poised to take over the music scene – Yes orphaned mouse takes on the new world (aw shucks) this guy has a softer side (major chic magnet) Sullee is a musical powerhouse that flexes his muscle through his lyrics steering clear of the pitfalls that have taken down so many in his genre.

As humble as he is talented,  he is quick to recognize those who have inspired him and grateful to a remarkable list of industry A Listers who have already given him the major green light. Claudette Ortiz of City High, Joe Budden, Teddy Riley, Slash of Guns and Roses, Busta Rhymes, Rick Ross, Mims., Billy Squier, Cool and Dre, Jackpot, Blackout, Ken Lewis and Producers Coalition of America are all on the “Sullee Express”  a train that has left the station and is on a cross country adventure moving full throttle towards not only taking the industry by storm, but redefining the definition of MC as we know it.

Note to self:  Sullee wants to one day be a Farmer in Kentucky…I will let HIM explain

Note to dancer in class:  BRING IT ON YOUNG GUN!

Leave a Reply

